RuckusMakerChallenge – day three “Taking Note”

I have several addictions. I love accessories. Scarves in particular. I have a growing owl collection that causes me some concern. I never expected my lifelong fondness for owls would coincide with them being so widely available today, in so many forms. Of particular ferocity is my love of notebooks.

At RuckusMakers last weekend, they gave each participant a notebook. Until receiving it, I thought all pocket-sized notebooks were either mini-Moleskines or they were not. Which is to mean I thought mini-Moleskines were the coolest. Enter Field Notes. Perhaps it was the timing of our introduction – immersed as I was in an inspiring weekend – but I think truly the tipping point was when, as a notebook connoisseur, I read the inside cover of the 3.5 x 5.5 gem (dimensions quoted from the book).

The notebook lists “Practical Applications” for it’s use. A list that includes #6 – Half-Ass Calculations, and #17 – Escape Routes. A personal favourite is #29 on the 30-item list: “Tall Orders.”

The dimensions, materials of the cover (wood veneer bound to kraft paper with “thick, brute force”), and composition of the “innards” are listed. All in an jocular tone, but there is considerable respect also contained in this little book. The typeface is named. The date of printing appears. People rarely make things like this anymore. They don’t give props to hands that touched something when it came to life – in this case, the “good people of Burke Printing.” They don’t reflect such strong faith that someone is going to “get” what they have made, and appreciate it. Very few companies are practicing art to this degree.

On a weekend spent talking about building tribes and connections, seeing something as simple as a notebook embody what Seth was talking about was a serendipitous miniature moment for me. I took note, and folded it, along with 47 other pages of thoughts and impressions into my nifty and now beloved Field Notes notebook for moving forward.

This entry was posted in Inside my head. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

