#RuckusMakersChallenge – day one

Back in January, Seth Godin posted on his blog he was going to host a weekend seminar. The requirement to attend was to want to make a ruckus. Applicants needed to be as honest with themselves about their fears as they are about their dreams. In the best compliment I’ve received this year, a colleague sent me the post saying they thought I was a total fit.

I applied without thinking. I’ve blogged before about saying yes and being available for opportunities life presents to participate – applying to RuckusMakers was like saying yes. Once I hit “send” the doubts came piling in. I know how the Seth-devoted are – highly accomplished, driven, inspired. Who was I to think I could earn a spot in a group hand-picked to be against the grain thinkers and creative drivers? Turns out I was myself – someone lucky enough to have some dreamy hopes come true.

It says a lot about where my life is now that RuckusMakers was able to happen for me. I work for an organization who focuses on innovation and change without losing sight of it’s people in the mix. I get to spend my days looking to the future, and I have space and time to breathe which means I have space and time to grow. I’ve accepted a challenge to blog once a day for the next eight about the experience we shared with Seth. I’ve accepted a couple other challenges, some with myself and some related to my job, that I’ll be committing to ship in the coming days. In Seth’s words, I “pick myself.”

I got this.

This entry was posted in Inside my head, RuckusMakers. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to #RuckusMakersChallenge – day one

  1. Jacqueline M. says:

    I read the first two paragraphs believing you were talking about Seth Rogen, and then said, wait a minute… Went back to paragraph one and realized that it wasn’t the comedian that had offered a weekend seminar. Looking forward to reading more about this!

    • Luis Vázquez says:

      Funny thing is that the same thing happened to a bunch of people who asked me about why I was going to NYC. Hilarious because everyone was like… “Seth Rogen runs seminars?…. !?!” Ha!

  2. Sabrina says:

    It’s comforting knowing that many of us shared the same feeling upon applying 🙂

Leave a Reply

