Start a wave…

I saw him from a mile away. Inching out, into traffic. From where I was, it seemed he would get in way before I got there, but he didn’t. I slowed down, gave a wave, he pulled out in front of me, and returned my wave. We both continued on our way.

Walking into work, she saw me coming. Likely heard my shoes before she registered that I was carrying a bucket, a purse, and an overflowing bag of clothes, shoes, plus my lunch. She stopped and held the door for me, waving me through. I breathlessly thanked her, waving as I teetered past her, grateful for the hand.

Have you started a wave lately? It’s easy. It’s like the commercial, where one little good turn leads to another. The wave I’m talking about is done as a polite response to a courtesy. Days without earning a wave mean you didn’t put shine out there for anyone. Days without giving a wave mean no one cut you a break, saw you in line or needing a hand. So why not start a wave? It means you’re seeing people. It means you’re willing to put out what you would like to see more of in the world. Courtesy, along with empathy, decorum, and tact has become increasingly rare to see. I’d like to see a return of these lost arts to counter what I do see lots of these days. I’d like to see more people taking care of our shared spaces and interactions. So. I’m going to do my part, and try and start a wave each day. At the very least I will be making a daily deposit in my karma bank. Maybe at the same time, I can help someone else to do the same.

This entry was posted in Inside my head. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Start a wave…

  1. Lindsay says:

    I just started one at work! As always, so inspiring and positive Julie. Thank you for sharing and making the world a better place!
    Hugs,
    Lindsay

Leave a Reply

