Goal Post: May 2012

The recipe for this month is easy, but it’s going to make quite an impressive dish:

2 dance competitions, one on the long weekend in Burlington…

3 incidents of wrinkle-inducing frustration from driving. At least. I’m sure.

1 family trip to see Bring it On. Kid2 is uber excited. Kid1 not sure what is going on, but is rolling with it.

3 dinners with friends… one of which I have to prepare the food for. That always leads to a couple cases of heartburn and one giant twist for me (am not a foodie).

.5 of a family wedding – half of us are at the dance comp, half will hit the wedding.

2 heaping new things I have never done before – teaching 1.5 hours and testing some consultant-like wings.

Sprinkle on top of this the regular dance studio nights, soccer practices, play dates, birthdays, piano and guitar lessons, and volunteer commitments and May should be a multi-coloured, undulating mass of this, that, and everything as it whips past.

As the chef responsible I repeatedly ask myself how I end up stretched like this, without a free evening in sight. Inevitably I attribute it to doing as much with this one life we’re given. Which leads me to my song of the moment. Seems the only songs of the moment I talk about are by Hedley. One Life. Have you heard it? It’s great. After hearing it blasted in the car for the umpteenth time the kids and I talked about it. We agree that life is busy. We also agree we are on the ride together, so that makes it all worth it. Happy May, everyone!

This entry was posted in Goal Post, Onwards and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

