A gem from my bellow repertoire.

It happened tonight. I was at my desk, kids were cavorting downstairs, getting more and more rambunctious, more and more on each other’s (and my) nerves. I could feel tension building in my shoulders, it’s a story I know the ending of. All parents do.

I finally snapped and bellowed. Do you bellow? It’s very different from yelling. Yelling is mean, done in anger. Bellowing is meant to be helpful, done as a preventative measure when things are getting out of control. My bellow went like this:

“YOU KIDS STOP THAT OR SOMEONE IS GOING TO END UP CRYING AND IT’S NOT GOING TO BE ME.”

In the ensuing moment of calm I registered a shocking thought. My mother used to say the exact same thing to us. Somewhere in a wrinkle of my brain I retained that snippet of parenting gold and used it as my mother did 35ish years ago.

It works like a charm. Stash it in a brain wrinkle somewhere. Add it to your bellow repertoire. I’m actually going to call my mom right now and thank her for that gem. I might even bellow at her so she knows I care.

This entry was posted in Inside my head and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

